Skype for Business–Tabbed Conversations – Undo Always Close all Tabs

If you use tabbed conversations in your Skype client you have the option to close current tab, or to close the tab group

 

image

You will probably choose one or the other depending on whether you are leaving for the day or just want to close out one conversation. But you have the option to “Always close all tabs” at the bottom.

Checking this may seem a great idea at the time and may serve you well. But what happens if you don’t want this behaviour anymore? Can it be undone?

Checking Skype options you can see there is an option to enable or disable tabbed conversations

image

You may think that disabling tabbed conversations and re-enabling will return the settings to their default, but this will not work.

To undo this setting memorisation you need to use the registry.

Open regedit and navigate to the following location

HKCU:\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Office\X\Lync\<sipaddress@userdomain.com>\DS

where “X” is your version number (15.0 for 2013, or 16.0 for 2016)

Edit the DWORD DontShowCWCloseTabQuery from 1 to 0

image

Now next time you try and close the tab conversation group, you will be prompted for the closure type again!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s